Home > Program > Co-located Conferences > SEARCC
Timing Session
10:30 - 11:10 SEARCC Session 1 Dr. Dayan Rajapakse – Topic TBA
Dr. Dayan Rajapakse is the founder of ESOFT Computer Studies (Pvt) Ltd and now he is the Chairman and Managing Director of the ESOFT Group. He graduated from the Colombo University with MBBS but gave up his medical career to continue his passion towards IT and the training industry.
11:10 – 11:50 SEARCC Session 2 Dr. Nick Tate - Future of the CIO
Dr Nick Tate is Director of the Australian Government's Research Data Storage Infrastructure (RDSI) project which is based at the University of Queensland (UQ). RDSI is a $50m project funded under the Super Science initiative which aims to transform the storage of research data throughout Australian Universities and Research Institutions, through the implementation of a multi-petabyte storage cloud. He has been an Adjunct Professor in IT and Electrical Engineering at UQ since 2008. Nick holds a Bachelor's degree in Physics from the University of St. Andrews in Scotland, a Master's degree in Computer Science and a PhD in IT security.
11:50 – 12:30 SEARCC Session 3 Mr. Andrew Johnson – Topic TBA
Andrew Johnson is the CEO of Australian Computer Society. He has extensive senior management experience servicing both the higher education and vocational education and training sectors, including membership based professional associations. His career has seen him work in a diverse range of markets across the Asia Pacific region and includes developing accreditation and certification frameworks. Andrew holds a Master of Arts in Technology Policy and Management.
12:30 – 14:00 Lunch
14:00 – 14:45 SEARCC Session 4 Prof. Bipin V Mehta – ICT for Corporate & Social Revolution
Prof. Mehta is currently working as Director, School of Computer Studies, Ahmedabad University, Ahmedabad, India since 1999. Before joining Ahmedabad University, he has served MNCs and leading textile industry holding senior positions. He owned a leading software & consultancy firm in Ahmedabad during 1987 to 1999 providing services to various domains.
14:45 – 15:30 SEARCC Session 5 Prof. Dr. Ahmad Zaki Bin A Bakar – Topic TBA
Prof. Zaki is a Senior Professor at the Department of Interactive Media, Faculty of Information and Communication Technology, Universiti Teknikal Malaysia Melaka (UTeM) since November 2012. He was also the Director of UTeMEX since 2013, Director of UTM Press (2007 – 2008), Dean of International Affairs (2004 – 2007), Dean of Faculty of Computer Science and Information Systems (2001 – 2004), Manager of Technopreneur Development at the Bureau of Innovation and Consultancy (1999 – 2001), Manager of Integrated Graduate Development Scheme of the Business Advanced Technology Center (1996 -1997), founding Managing Director of the Malaysian National Institute of Translation (1993 - 1996) and Director of the Malaysian Division of the Joint Research in Multilingual Computer Translation Project between Japan, Malaysia, China, Thailand and Indonesia (1989 -1996).
15:30 – 16:00 Afternoon Tea
16:00 – 16:30 SEARCC Session 6 Sir Mick Nades, CBE – Topic TBA
Mick is the founder and Chairman of IBS (Institute of Business Studies) and the Founder and President of PNGCS (Papua New Guinea Computer Society). He is the Chairman of Cricket PNG and led the Cricket PNG to achieve One Day International (ODI) status. In 2014 he was knighted by King of Belgium and awarded Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) by the Queen of United Kingdom.